© Photo Neda Navae

Stephan Aubé is a director and producer for classical music films.

His continued experience as a pianist affords him a particular closeness to many international artists, enabling an intimate approach in his work as a director.

He is very involved to show classical music differently by using new technologies.

He regularly films live operas, symphonic concerts or shows for european television chanels, as well as musical clips with well known artists.

 

Since 2009, he has been working for the Digital Concert Hall, a website that broadcast live concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.

 

In 2014 he completed a production for France Télévisions of a concert with the Monteverdi Choir under the conducting of Sir John Eliot Gardiner (also in DVD).

Filmed in 4K (Ultra High Definition) and binaural sound, a world premiere.

For the European TV channel arte, he directed the Bach Goldberg Variations with Alexandre Tharaud (also in DVD) awarded by the prestigious ECHO Classic (Berlin, Germany) as the best DVD of the year 2016.

 

In addition, he regularly produces music videos for the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art (in Denmark), which can be viewed online on the Museum Web Channel. A new website is dedicated to the 80s videos and can be watched online for free.

 

Stephan Aubé has cooperated with Jean-François Zygel and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France to produce 6 broadcasts of the french famous TV shows: "Les clefs de l'orchestre" and "La leçon de musique" (also available in DVD).

 

During a ten-year collaboration with Mécénat Musical Société Générale, Stephan Aubé produced a multitude of films, for which he was awarded with the Bronze Dolphin at the Festival Comunica de Deauville (2000), the Prix Frères Lumière at the Festival of Creusot (2003) and the Top Com d'Or Paris Award (2004) for his DVD production "Music, Passion, Sharing".

 

He directed the work "Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus" by Olivier Messiaen performed by the pianist Roger Muraro for a double DVD production for Universal music, for which he received unanimous critical acclaim.

 

Stephan Aubé participated in the creation of a series of short films for the permanent exhibition of the collection of instruments in the Musée de la Cité de la Musique in Paris.

© Stephan Aubé 2020 - All rights reserved - created by Fanny Houillon

© Photo Neda Navae

Stephan Aubé est réalisateur et producteur de films pour la musique classique.

Son activité de pianiste qu’il poursuit encore aujourd’hui lui donne la singularité d’être très proche de nombreux artistes internationaux, lui permettant une intimité unique dans son travail de réalisateur.

Il est particulièrement intéressé à montrer la musique classique autrement, en utilisant les nouvelles technologies.

 

Depuis 2009, il a travaillé pour le Digital Concert Hall, site internet qui retransmet en direct les concerts de l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Berlin  (5 saisons).



Il réalise régulièrement des captations live multi-caméras de concerts ou d'opéras, comme le concert donné à l'occasion des 50 ans du Monteverdi Choir sous la direction de Sir John Eliot Gardiner pour France 2.

Concert retransmis en direct et filmé en 4K (Ultra Haute Définition) et son binaural, une première mondiale (également en DVD).

Pour arte, il a réalisé un film sur les Variations Goldberg de Bach interprétées par Alexandre Tharaud (également en DVD) récompensé par le prestigieux prix ECHO Classic (Berlin, Allemagne) du meilleur DVD de l'année 2016.



Par ailleurs, il travaille régulièrement pour le Louisiana Museum of Modern Art (au Danemark) pour lequel il réalise des clips musicaux et des captations de concerts avec des artistes de renommée internationale. Un site internet a été créé pour présenter plus de 80 films réalisés dans ce cadre.



Stephan Aubé a également réalisé 6 DVD des célèbres séries d'émissions de télévision "Les Clefs de l'Orchestre" et "La leçon de musique" présentées par Jean-François Zygel et l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France.

 

Avec Mécénat Musical Société Générale​, c'est une collaboration de 10 ans qui l’a amené à réaliser de nombreux films pour lesquels il a remporté le Dauphin de Bronze au festival Comunica de Deauville (2000), ainsi que le Prix Frères Lumière (Festival du Creusot, 2003) et le Top Com d'Or de Paris (2004) pour le DVD "La musique, une passion, un partage".

 

Il est le réalisateur du double DVD des Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant-Jésus d’Olivier Messiaen interprétés par le pianiste Roger Muraro (Universal Music), salué par une critique unanime.



Il a également participé à la réalisation d'une série de courts films destinés à l’exposition permanente de la collection d’instruments du Musée de la Cité de la musique de Paris.

© stephan aubé 2019 - created by Fanny Houillon